About me


My name is Eeva-Maija, I'm  a 30-year-old woman sharing about her life in this blog. I'm a Christian and base my life on Jesus. I believe in God's guidance and could not live without that in my life. Normally during the school year, I try to teach kids some English, but since the beginning of this one until I don't yet know when, I'm a stay-at-home mom to a beautiful little baby boy.

I'm a hands-on kinda person. This trait comes through in different ways at different times. After being able to call myself a Mrs. I've become interested in cooking and even more in baking. I've always liked to do little things by hand, like cards, decorations and other pretty things. My inspirational and talented mother, one of my role models both in general and in this area of life, has brought handiwork close to me by doing them herself and giving me a helping hand in my fumbling attempts to sew, knit and crochet.

After moving away from my parents, these things have been more in the background, besides the occasional sewing of drapes or a new piece of clothing as well as patching up some old ones. Since the beginning of year 2011, it changed, however. I started having a sudden rush of excitement to things concerning yarn. I've started to see every ball of yarn as an opportunity. I feel excitement when taking up my hook or needles. I look forward to the goal, the finished product, but I certainly enjoy the ride there as well. I've come to realize that handiwork is a great way to unwind and get some me-time.

I hope you enjoy reading about my life, my conquests and mishaps in the world of making by hand.